Contact: Gregg Mitchell (323) 782-4574
News Release: January 14, 2009
Television Writer Larry DiTillio to Receive WGAW’s Morgan Cox Award for Guild Service

LOS ANGELES -- Veteran television writer Larry DiTillio has been selected to receive the Writers Guild of America, West’s 2009 Morgan Cox Award in recognition of his longtime service to the Guild and his dedication to helping empower and improve the working conditions of his fellow writers. Along with other honorees, DiTillio will be feted at the 2009 Writers Guild Awards’ West Coast ceremony on Saturday, February 7, 2009, in Los Angeles

"Larry has done so much thankless work for our Guild, we had to finally say thanks. If there's a committee Larry hasn't worked on or a service he hasn't performed," said WGAW president Patric M. Verrone, “he will.”

Perhaps best known as executive story editor of the hit science-fiction series Babylon 5, for which he penned many episodes, DiTillio’s other television writing credits include animated series such as Beast Wars: Transformers, He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, She-Ra: Princess of Power, The Real Ghost Busters, and Galaxy High School, as well as Murder She, Wrote, Conan: The Adventurer, The Hitchhiker, Hypernauts, They Came from Outer Space, Swamp Thing, The Centurions, and Captain Power and the Soldiers of Fortune. His screen credits include ‘70s cult film Those Mad, Mad Movie Makers.

An active WGAW member since 1973, DiTillio has served on numerous Guild committees, including: Age Awareness (1997-2002), Freedom of Expression (1974-1976), New Members (1976-1981), Officers Nominating (1979), Social Activities (1979-1989), Strike Study (1988), Tellers (1979-2008), Work Exchange (1989), and Writers Craft Conference (1996-2000).

The Morgan Cox Award honors that WGAW member whose vital ideas, continuing efforts, and personal sacrifice best exemplify the ideal of service to the Guild. Previous recipients include Fay Kanin, Mel Shavelson, George Kirgo, Del Reisman, Hal Kanter, Frank Pierson, Daryl G. Nickens, and most recently, Don M. Mankiewicz. The late Morgan B. Cox devoted much of his professional life to serving the Guild, with a focus on ensuring that television writers were included under WGA jurisdiction.

The 2009 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Saturday, February 7, 2009, at simultaneous ceremonies at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles and the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City.

For more information about the 2009 Writers Guild Awards submission process, guidelines, and official entry forms, please visit or

For media inquiries about the 2009 Writers Guild Awards Los Angeles show, please contact Gregg Mitchell in the WGAW Communications Dept. at: (323) 782-4574, email: Gregg Mitchell.

For media inquiries about the 2009 Writers Guild Awards New York show, please contact Sherry Goldman in the WGAE Public Relations Dept. at (718) 224-4133 or email: Sherry Goldman.

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) represent writers in the motion picture, broadcast, cable, and new media industries in both entertainment and news.