Contact: Gregg Mitchell (323) 782-4574
News Release: February 2, 2009
Film and Television Actors to Celebrate Writers at 2009 Writers Guild Awards

LOS ANGELES -- The Writers Guild of America, West has confirmed a diverse line-up of film and television actors to appear as presenters at the 2009 Writers Guild Awards this Saturday, February 7, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel, tapping Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog) to host this year’s West Coast gala.

Presenters confirmed to appear at the 2009 Writers Guild Awards’ L.A. ceremony include: Josh Brolin (Milk, No Country for Old Men), Steve Carell (The Office, The 40-Year-Old Virgin), Frank Langella (Frost/Nixon), Jon Hamm (Mad Men), Kate Walsh (Private Practice), Alfre Woodard (The Family That Preys, Desperate Housewives), Zach Braff (Scrubs), Sarah Silverman (The Sarah Silverman Program), Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad), Julia Louis-Dreyfus (The New Adventures of Old Christine), Sandra Oh (Grey’s Anatomy), Jamie Lee Curtis (Beverly Hills Chihuahua, Freaky Friday), Rob Reiner (The Bucket List), Garry Marshall (Georgia Rule), and more to be confirmed.

Emmy and Image Award-winning producer-writer Cort Casady has once again been tapped as executive producer by the WGAW to helm this year’s Writers Guild Awards’ West Coast show. A veteran producer of industry awards shows, Casady’s credits include The Soap Opera Digest Awards, The ALMA Awards and The Blockbuster Entertainment Awards, as well as the 2005 and 2006 Writers Guild Awards.

He has been supervising producer of the American Film Institute (AFI) tributes to Robert DeNiro (2003), Meryl Streep (2004), George Lucas (2005), Sean Connery (2006) and Al Pacino (2007). He recently wrote and produced a two-hour concert special, An Evening of Stars Tribute to Patti Labelle, which aired last month on NBC. Casady received an Emmy Award for Outstanding Entertainment Programming for New York at Night Starring Clint Holmes, a daily, live variety-talk series he created. His other series credits include The Great American Celebrity Spelling Bee for Fox and the original Star Search competition series. Casady has also been a guest writer on Saturday Night Live and was co-creator with Jim Byrnes of the TV movie mini-series, Kenny Rogers as The Gambler.

Also returning this year as part of Casady’s team is talent producer Carole Propp, whose credits include The Tony Awards for the past four years; the Creative Emmys for the past six years; and Saturday Night at the Movies for the past eight years. Returning as head writer is Dave Boone, whose credits include The Neighborhood Ball celebrating President Barack Obama’s recent inauguration, Dancing With the Stars, The Tony Award, The Emmy Awards, and The Academy Awards.

The 2009 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Saturday, February 7, 2009, at simultaneous ceremonies at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles and the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City. For more information about the 2009 Writers Guild Awards, please visit or

For media inquiries about the 2009 Writers Guild Awards Los Angeles show, please contact Gregg Mitchell in the WGAW Communications Dept. at: (323) 782-4574, email: Gregg Mitchell.

For media inquiries about the 2009 Writers Guild Awards New York show, please contact Sherry Goldman in the WGAE Public Relations Dept. at (718) 224-4133 or email: Sherry Goldman.

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) represent writers in the motion picture, broadcast, cable, and new media industries in both entertainment and news.