Contact: Gabriel Scott (323) 782-4603
News Release: March 2, 2002
Winners Announced for 54th Annual Writers Guild Awards

LOS ANGELES -- The Writers Guild of America, west and East announced the winners of the 54th Annual Writers Guild Awards for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen, television and radio in gala ceremonies at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills and at The Pierre Hotel in New York, Saturday, March 2nd, 2002.

Winners of the 54th Annual Writers Guild Awards are as follows:


Best Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen

GOSFORD PARK, Written by Julian Fellowes; USA Films

Best Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published

A BEAUTIFUL MIND, Written by Akiva Goldsman, based on the book by Sylvia Nasar; Universal Pictures


Original Long Form

CONSPIRACY, Written by Loring Mandel; HBO Films; HBO

Adapted Long Form

ANNE FRANK, Teleplay by Kirk Ellis, based on the book by Melissa Muller originally published by Claasen Verlag, Munich, Germany; Milk and Honey Productions in association with Dorothy Pictures, Inc.; ABC

Episodic Drama

PINE BARRENS (The Sopranos), Teleplay by Terence Winter, Story by Tim Van Patten & Terence Winter; Chase Films/Brad Grey Television in association with HBO Original Programming; HBO

Episodic Comedy

ITALY, Parts 1 & 2 (Everybody Loves Raymond), Written by Philip Rosenthal; HBO Independent Productions and Worldwide Pants, Inc. in association with Where’s Lunch, Inc.; CBS

Comedy/Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials – Any Length

THE KENNEDY CENTER HONORS, Written by Don Baer and George Stevens Jr., film sequences Written by Sara Lukinson, Harry Miles Muheim; A George Stevens Jr. Presentation, Kennedy Center Television Productions, Inc., CBS

Comedy/Variety – (Including Talk) Series

LATE NIGHT WITH CONAN O’BRIENMike Sweeney, Chris Albers, Ellen Barancik, Andy Blitz, Kevin Dorff, Jonathan Glaser, Michael Gordon, Roy Jenkins, Brian Kiley, Michael Koman, Brian McCann, Guy Nicolucci, Conan O’Brien, Andrew Secunda, Robert Smigel, Brian Stack, Andrew Weinberg, Broadway Video; NBC

Daytime Serials

ALL MY CHILDRENAgnes Nixon, Jean Passanante, Craig Carlson, Frederick Johnson, N. Gail Lawrence, Victor Miller, Juliet Law Packer, Addie Walsh, Mimi Leahey, Bettina F. Bradbury, Charlotte Gibson, David Hiltbrand, Janet Iacobuzio, Royal Miller, John Piroman, Rebecca Taylor, Neal Bell, ABC Daytime; ABC

Children’s Script

MY LOUISIANA SKY – Teleplay by Anna Sandor, based on My Louisiana Sky by Kimberly Willis Holt, a Hyperion Studio & Aviator Films Production; Showtime

Documentary – Current Events

DRUG WARS, PART 2 (Frontline) – Written by Lowell Bergman & Kenneth Levis and Doug Hamilton & Oriana Zill, Rain Media in cooperation with WGBH and Cambay Productions; PBS

Documentary – Other Than Current Events

HITLER’S LOST SUB (Nova) – Written by Rushmore DeNooyer, Lone Wolf Pictures in cooperation with WGBH; PBS


SCOTTSBORO, AN AMERICAN TRAGEDY (The American Experience) – Written by Barak Goodman, Social Media Productions; PBS

News – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report


News – Analysis, Feature or Comentary



Radio Documentary – any length

EYE ON DEATH ROW (Weekend Roundup) – Wendy Zentz; CBS Radio Network

News – Regularly Scheduled

THE RECOUNTPaul Farry; CBS Radio Network

News – Analysis, Feature or Commentary

PRESERVING AMERICAN SOUND (Perspective) – Scott L. Anderson; ABC News Radio



Please note: There was a tie in the following category, Documentary – Other Than Current Events.

The Los Angeles ceremony was hosted by comedian Jeffrey Ross and featured presenters and special guests including Julie Andrews, Andy Garcia, Tom Selleck, Ted Danson, Thora Birch, Alan Ball, John Ritter, Ray Romano, Doris Roberts, Hal Holbrook, Bruce Vilanch, Lesley Ann Warren, Peter Scolari, Grant Show and Harlan Ellison. Tim O’Donnell was the executive producer of the Los Angeles ceremony and the program was written by the writers from Dennis Miller Live.

WGAw honorary awards were previously announced and were presented to the recipients at the Los Angeles ceremony. These special honors include Blake Edwards (Screen Laurel Award), Glenn and Les Charles (Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award), Timothy J. Sexton (Paul Selvin Award for writing For Love or Country: The Arturo Sandoval Story), David Angell (posthumously; Valentine Davies Award), Alan Burnett(Writers Guild Animation Award), Christopher Knopf (Edmund H. North Award) and D.C. Fontana (Morgan Cox Award).

The WGA, East honorees include Donald E. Westlake (The Ian McLellan Hunter Award), Colin Callendar (The Evelyn F. Burkey Award) and Stephen Schiff (The Richard B. Jablow Award). Visit the Writers Guild of America, East Web site.