Contact: Gabriel Scott (323) 782-4603
News Release: October 24, 2002
Animation Writers Honor Patric Verrone With Lifetime Achievement Award

LOS ANGELES -- The Animation Writers Caucus (AWC) of the Writers Guild of America, west presented its fifth annual Animation Writing Award to Patric Verrone at its annual meeting and reception, Wednesday, October 23, 2002.

"Patric's talents as a writer are matched by his passion for the craft and for the years he has poured his time and energy into advancing the status and rights of animation writers. This award is a reflection of that hard work and one that he so richly deserves," said Victoria Riskin, President of the Writers Guild of America, west. Riskin was on hand to present the award to Verrone during the ceremony at guild headquarters.

"This award is intended to honor animation writers whose writing is exemplary and/or whose efforts on behalf of animation writers has made a difference. Patric Verrone fulfills both of these goals," said Craig Miller, the caucus chair. "His work in daytime and primetime animation, in particular his writing for Futurama, have always been of the highest quality, and his work with the Writers Guild, as part of the Contract Negotiating Committee, on the Board of Directors, and as Secretary-Treasurer, has kept animation and the rights and needs of animation writers at the forefront. For all of these things, the Animation Writers Caucus is pleased to be able to let Patric know how much we appreciate all he's done and what we know he'll do in the future."

Currently serving as Supervising Producer of Fox TV's Futurama, Patric Verrone has also lent his talents to The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson, The Critic, The Simpsons, Pinky and the Brain, Rugrats, Muppets Tonight!, and The Larry Sanders Show. He has been nominated for Emmys in four different categories and won in two. In addition to his board post, Verrone is the Organizing Committee Chair of the WGA,w.

The honorary award is given to "that member of the Animation Writers Caucus and/or the guild who, in the opinion of the Board of Directors, has advanced the literature of animation in film and/or television through the years, and who has made outstanding contributions to the profession of the animation writer."