Contact: Jody Frisch (323) 782-4574
Sherry Goldman (718) 224-4133
News Release: January 12, 2007
Writers Guilds Announce Nominees for 2007 Documentary Screenplay Award

LOS ANGELES, NEW YORK -- The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in documentary writing for the screen during the 2006 season:

DELIVER US FROM EVIL, Written by Amy Berg, Lionsgate

THE HEART OF THE GAME, Written By Ward Serrill, Miramax Films

ONCE IN A LIFETIME: THE EXTRAORDINARY STORY OF THE NEW YORK COSMOS, Story by Mark Monroe and John Dower, Screenplay by Mark Monroe, Miramax Films

WHO KILLED THE ELECTRIC CAR? Written by Chris Paine, Sony Pictures Classics

WHY WE FIGHT, Written by Eugene Jarecki, Sony Pictures Classics

The guilds’ Documentary Screenplay Award was established to honor the writer’s role in documentary film. This recognition is also part of the Writers Guild of America, West’s and the Writers Guild of America, East’s broader efforts to build a community of nonfiction writers and to ensure these writers receive the benefits and protections of a Writers Guild contract.

The inaugural award was given out in 2005, with Morgan Spurlock’s Super Size Me taking the top honor, while Alex Gibney won the award in 2006 for Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room.

Since the creation of the award, there has been a more than 50 percent increase in U.S. documentaries containing a writing credit. This year, 35 films were submitted for consideration, a 40 percent increase over the previous year. For the first time, the WGA Documentary Screenplay Award will be presented at the Writers Guild Awards on February 11. Qualifications to be eligible for the WGA Documentary Screenplay Award include:

• Documentaries submitted for entry must contain an on-screen writing credit and have been exhibited theatrically in either New York or Los Angeles for one week in 2006.

• The credited writers of these documentaries are required to join the WGAW’s Nonfiction Writers Caucus or WGAE Nonfiction Writers Committee in order to be considered.

• Scripts need not be written under WGA jurisdiction.

• The script must be feature length (over 45 minutes), and documentaries that received their first public exhibition on broadcast or cable television are not eligible for screen awards.

• Foreign-language films are not eligible; however, such films covered by the International Alliance of Writers Guilds (IAWG) will be considered.

Further questions about the WGA Documentary Screenplay Award may be directed to John Koch in the WGAW’s Public Affairs Department at (323) 782-4510, or to Sherry Goldman for the WGAE’s Public Relations at (718) 224-4133.

The 2007 Writers Guild Awards will be held Sunday, February 11, 2007, in Los Angeles at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel and simultaneously in New York at the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel.

For more information about the upcoming 2007 Writers Guild Awards, please visit or

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) represent writers in the motion picture, broadcast, cable, and new media industries in both entertainment and news. The unions conduct numerous programs, seminars, and events throughout the world on issues of interest to, and on behalf of, writers.