Contact: Gregg Mitchell (323) 782-4574
Sherry Goldman (718) 224-4133
News Release: January 14, 2008
WGA Announces First-Ever Videogame Writing Award Nominees
2008 Writers Guild Awards Winners to be Announced Feb. 9

LOS ANGELES, NEW YORK -- The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for the Guilds' inaugural Videogame Writing Award, honoring outstanding achievement in videogame writing during 2007.


CRASH OF THE TITANS, Written by Christopher Mitchell, Sierra Entertainment
DEAD HEAD FRED, Written by Dave Ellis and Adam Cogan, D3 Publisher
THE SIMPSONS GAME, Lead Writer Matt Selman, Written by Tim Long and Matt Warburton, Dialogue by Jeff Poliquin, Electronic Arts
THE WITCHER, Lead Story Designer Artur Ganszyniec, Dialogue Sebastian Stepien, Additional Dialogue Marcin Blacha, Writers Sande Chen and Anne Toole, Atari
WORLD IN CONFLICT, Story Design Christofer Emgard, Story Consultant Larry Bond, Script Consultant Ed Zuckerman, Sierra Entertainment

Developed by the WGA and spearheaded by the Guild's New Media Caucus to encourage storytelling excellence in videogames, improve the status of writers, and foster uniform standards within the gaming industry, the WGA's inaugural Videogame Writing Award spotlights quality work by videogame writers, raising their profiles, and validating their contributions to this rapidly maturing medium.

The WGA Videogame Writing Award honors the best qualifying script from a videogame published in the previous year. To be eligible for entry, games must have been released between Dec. 1, 2006 and Nov. 30, 2007. For this first year, work that was not produced under WGA jurisdiction may have been submitted, but must contain separate writing credit(s). Writers of source material were not eligible for awards consideration. At the time scripts were submitted, the credited game writer(s) must have been or applied to become members of the WGA's New Media Caucus.

2008 Writers Guild Awards winners in all categories will be announced on Saturday, February 9.

For further information about the 2008 Writers Guild Awards, please visit or

Further inquiries about the WGA Videogame Writing Award may be directed to Melissa Gage in the WGAW Awards Department at (323) 782-4571; email: Melissa Gage, or to Marsha Manns in the WGAE Awards Department at 212-767-7805, email: Marsha Manns.

For press inquiries about the 2008 Writers Guild Awards, please contact Gregg Mitchell in the WGAW Communications Department at: (323) 782-4574, e-mail: Gregg Mitchell  or Sherry Goldman in the WGAE Public Relations Department at (718) 224-4133 or e-mail: Sherry Goldman.

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) represent writers in the motion picture, broadcast, cable, and new media industries in both entertainment and news.