The Committee on the Professional Status of Writers Theatrical is provided for in the WGA Basic Agreement. It is comprised of Theatrical Writers (WGAW Board/WGAE Council appointed) and Company CEOs. Its mission is to discuss and study issues relating to the professional status of writers, including making appropriate recommendations of solutions to problems. By way of example, the Committee may discuss such matters as "pre-writes", sweepstakes pitching, free rewrites, and late pay. The Committee meets approximately 3 times per year.

Chair: Paul Haggis
Vice-Chairs: Billy Ray & Howard A. Rodman

Writer Members of the Committee:
Judd Apatow
John August
Shari Springer Berman
Adam Brooks
Stephen Gaghan
Terry George
David Goyer
John Hamburg
Nick Kazan
Lawrence Kasdan
Aline Brosh McKenna
Nancy Meyers
Marc Norman
Eric Roth
Bruce Joel Rubin
Alvin Sargent
Stephen Schiff
Robin Swicord

Staff Liaison: Lise Anderson, Assistant Executive Director