View this email in your browser


As we reported on Sunday, the WGA reached a tentative agreement with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers on a new three-year Minimum Basic Agreement. Today, your Negotiating Committee, the WGAW Board and WGAE Council all voted unanimously to recommend the agreement. It will now go to both Guilds' memberships for a ratification vote. Eligible voters will receive ballot and materials for the vote which will take place from October 2nd to October 9th. 

The WGAW Board and WGAE Council also voted unanimously to lift the restraining order and end the strike as of 12:01 am PT/3:01 am ET on Wednesday, September 27th. This allows writers to return to work during the ratification process, but does not affect the membership's right to make a final determination on contract approval. 

Now that we have finalized the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA), we can share details of this exceptional deal, with gains and protections for members in every sector of the business: 

MBA 2023 Contract Materials

Contract Informational Member Meetings:

We are convening meetings this week so current members can hear from the Negotiating Committee, Board and Council, and have the opportunity to ask questions about the agreement before the ratification vote.
  • NYC: Wed. September 27th, 7:00 pm ET at the Manhattan Center. Doors open with snacks and refreshments 6:00 pm. RSVP
  • Los Angeles: Wed. September 27th, 7:00 pm PT at the Hollywood Palladium. Doors open with snacks and refreshments 6:00 pm. RSVP
  • Zoom meeting: Thurs. September 28th, 5:00 pm PT/8:00 pm ET RSVP
  • Zoom meeting: Fri. September 29th, 11:00 am PT/2:00 pm ET RSVP
Please try to be with us in-person on Wednesday either in NYC or LA. We did this together and it would be good to gather again to honor both our strike and what we've accomplished. We look forward to discussing the deal with you. 



David A. Goodman, Co-Chair
Chris Keyser, Co-Chair
Ellen Stutzman, Chief Negotiator
John August
Angelina Burnett
Kay Cannon
Yahlin Chang
Robb Chavis
Adam Conover
Travis Donnelly
Ashley Gable
Hallie Haglund
Eric Haywood
Eric Heisserer
Greg Iwinski
Luvh Rakhe
Erica Saleh
Danielle Sanchez-Witzel
James Schamus
Tom Schulman
Mike Schur
David Shore
David Simon
Patric M. Verrone
Nicole Yorkin

Meredith Stiehm, WGAW President
Michele Mulroney, WGAW Vice President
Betsy Thomas, WGAW Secretary-Treasurer
Lisa Takeuchi Cullen, WGAE President
Erica Saleh, WGAE Vice President of Film/TV/Streaming
Christopher Kyle, WGAE Secretary-Treasurer


Meredith Stiehm, President
Michele Mulroney, Vice President
Betsy Thomas, Secretary-Treasurer
Scott Alexander
Raphael Bob-Waksberg
Angelina Burnett
Adam Conover
Travis Donnelly
Rob Forman
Ashley Gable
Justin Halpern
Dante W. Harper
Eric Haywood
Deric A. Hughes
Zoe Marshall
Molly Nussbaum
Dailyn Rodriguez
John Rogers
Nicole Yorkin


Lisa Takeuchi Cullen, President
Erica Saleh, Vice President, Film/TV/Streaming
Christopher Kyle, Secretary-Treasurer
Monica Lee Bellais
Kaitlin Fontana
Gina Gionfriddo
Josh Gondelman
Tian Jun Gu
A.M. Homes
Liz Hynes
Greg Iwinski
Erica Saleh
Sasha Stewart
Tracey Scott Wilson
Writers Guild of America West
7000 West Third Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone (323) 951-4000 •

Unsubscribe and manage subscriptions