The following are individuals or organizations willing to provide free information to writers. While every attempt is made to ensure that FYI listings are purely informational and accurate, the WGAW does not endorse any of the following listings or the information they provide.

If you would like to list your services or update your contact information, or if you find a listing that is out-of-date, please e-mail the Web editor.

Government Agencies
Crime and Law
Medicine
Religion
Psychology
Miscellaneous

GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

Agency/Department Contact
U.S. Air Force (310) 235-7511
Air Force Office of Public Affairs
www.airforcehollywood.af.mil  
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives Meredith Davis
(818) 265-2500
www.atf.gov
U.S. Coast Guard (310) 235-7817
www.uscg.mil
U.S. Customs and Border Protection Anne Sittmann
CBP Public Affairs
(202) 325-24905
Anne.m.sittmann@cbp.dhs.gov
Main: (619) 216-4182
www.cbp.gov
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Betsy Glick
Office of Public Affairs (DC Headquarters)
(202) 324-2326
public.affairs@ic.fbi.gov
Department of Homeland Security
ICE/Homeland Security Investigations (HSI)
Customs and Border Protection (CBP)
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Secret Service
Transportation Security Administration (TSA)
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
multimedia@dhs.gov
www.dhs.gov/entertainment-industry-contacts
L.A. County Office of Education Public Affairs/Communications
(562) 922-6360
Cancer Institute
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
(301) 496-6641
ncipressofficers@mail.nih.gov
U.S. Navy Public Affairs
(310) 235-7481
navyinfowest@gmail.com
directorbob1@gmail.com
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Public Affairs (310) 268-3340
glawebteam@va.gov
vhaglapublicaffairs@va.gov
www.va.gov
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Foreign Policy and Counter Terrorism Global Outreach
Rainy Young
Director of the Office of Public Affairs
YoungRM@state.gov

Chris Frisina
Special Advisor, Public Affairs/Global Engagement
frisinac@state.gov

Back to top 

Crime and Law

Expertise Contact
Criminal Defense James Blatt
(310) 385-8066
j.blatt@jamesblatt.com
www.jamesblatt.com

Dmitry Gorin
dg@egattorneys.com
www.keglawyers.com
Criminal Defense – Federal Robert M. Helfend
(310) 456-3317
info@robertmhelfend.com
www.robertmhelfend.com
Cyber Crime Michael Panico
(206) 310-9972
(415) 295-7883
michael.panico@hotmail.com
www.code-four.com
Elder Law and Personal Injury Jason Neufeld
(800) 379-8326
jneufeld@nkplaw.com
www.elderneedslaw.com
www.neufeldlawfirm.com
FBI Investigations
Homicide Cases
Financial Crimes
Illegal Gambling Rings
Ryan Blanch
(212) 736-3900
new-pnc@blanchpc.com
www.TheBlanchLawFirm.com
Insurance Fraud and White Collar Crime Aaron Spolin
Spolin Law Firm
(310) 424-5816
spolin@spolinlaw.com
www.spolinlaw.com
Law Enforcement
(Fraud Schemes, Undercover Investigations, etc.)
John Auvinen
(707) 453-0178
johnauvinen@comcast.net
Medical Law Melissa Neiman, M.D., J.D. Board Certified Neurosurgeon
(832) 289-9610
law@mneiman.com
www.mneiman.com
Private Investigation Murphy Investigative Services
(213) 804-8484

Back to top 

MEDICINE

Expertise Contact
Alzheimer's Disease Alzheimer's Association
(312) 335-4078
media@alz.org
Deaf/Hard of Hearing Maria Monte de Rey
California Association of the Deaf (CAD) LA
(818) 356-8215
cadmediachair@gmail.com
bluebeach3@gmail.com  
DNA and Genetics Debra Robertson, Ph.D.
(858) 792-8019
robertson8019@gmail.com
Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics and General Medical/Health Care Topics Michelle Shuffett, MD
(310) 995-6075
mshuffett@me.com
Lymphoma Peggy Ann Torney
Lymphoma Research Foundation
Director of Communications/Public Relations
(212) 349-2910
ptorney@lymphoma.org
(310) 204-7040
lrf@lymphoma.org
Medical Experts, Malpractice, Criminal and Civil Cases Jane R. Leavy
(954) 346-6591
mymedexpert@aol.com
www.medexpertwitness.com
Neurosurgery Melissa Neiman, M.D., J.D. Board Certified Neurosurgeon
(832) 289-9610
law@mneiman.com
www.mneiman.com
Organ Tissue Donation and Transplantation Elizabeth Flynn
(310) 770-3842
flynnadv@att.net
Pediatrics, Primary Care and Minority Populations Health April Khadijah Inniss, MD, MSc
(617) 501-5920
innissa@med.umich.edu
aprilinniss@gmail.com
www.kidsmediadoc.com
Public Health Topics Hollywood, Health & Society at the
USC Annenberg Norman Lear Center
(323) 782-3311
www.usc.edu/hhs

Back to top 

PSYCHOLOGY

Expertise Contact
Addiction and Recovery SMART Recovery
www.smartrecovery.org
Tom Horvath, Ph.D.
(858) 546-1100 x222
tom.horvath@practicalrecovery.com
Bipolar Disorder (415) 281-3100
www.healthline.com
Parents, Families and Friends
of Lesbians and Gays
(202) 467-8180
fax: (202) 467-8194
info@pflag.org
Psychiatry/Forensic Dr. Blinder
(415) 453-8920

Back to top 

RELIGION

Expertise Contact
Catholicism Paulist Productions
(310) 454-0688
assistant@paulistproductions.org
www.paulistproductions.org
Mormonism Matt Ball
LDS Church Public Affairs, West Coast
(310) 475-7018
(800) 533-2444
(818) 388-9273
mball@lds.org
publicaffairsla@aol.com
Muslims and Islam Imran Anwar
imran@imran.com
(646) 50-IMRAN or (646) 504-6726
http://imran.tv
Theological Accuracy Paul Viggiano
pastorpaul@integrity.com

Back to top 

MISCELLANEOUS

Expertise Contact
Amer. Humane Assoc. Film & TV Unit
“No Animals Were Harmed”
(818) 501-0123
filmunit@americanhumane.org
www.humanehollywood.org
Archaeology (310) 206-8934
Chinese Culture Samuel Chong
(626) 487-8909
chineselanguagetutor@yahoo.com
www.certifiedchinesetranslation.com
Computers (505) 913-9050
ssalemi@earthlink.net
Croquet (503) 838-5697
eliassen@open.org
Disabilities (Writers with Disabilities) Allen Rucker
Co-Chair, WGAW Writers with Disabilities Committee
ARCA9@aol.com  
Firearms (703) 267-1300
www.nra.org
GLAAD/LA Communications Department
(323) 933-2240
seth@glaad.org
www.glaad.org
Literacy (916) 324-7358
Science and Technology
The Science & Entertainment Exchange, a program of the National Academy of Sciences
(844) NEED-SCI
AEBrown@nas.edu
www.scienceandentertainmentexchange.org
Search & Rescue Alice Stanley
(540) 582-5708
storyspinr@aol.com
Social Impact Topics
(immigration, racial justice, prison reform, LGBT/gender equality, disability, climate change, social and health policy)
UCLA Global Media Center for Social Impact in the Fielding School of Public Health
(310) 794-4616
gmi@ph.ucla.edu
www.gmimpact.org

Back to top