Writers Guild of America
2014 Showrunner Training Program


The ninth season of the Guild’s highly acclaimed Showrunner Training Program (SRTP) begins January 2014. Conducted in partnership with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers, this important industry training program is designed to help senior-level writer-producers hone the skills necessary to become successful showrunners in today’s television landscape.

Providing invaluable instruction from current showrunners and other industry professionals, the program has helped produce many successful results. SRTP graduates have gone on to create, co-create and/or executive produce new and returning series. Five new shows were created this year by Program alums including Courtney Kemp Agboh (Power), Meredith Averill (Star-Crossed – SRTP Alum, Adele Lim, will co-EP), Eric Friedman (Crash and Bernstein), Steven Kane (Co-Creator, The Last Ship) and Adam Milch (Twisted).

Alumni with continuing series include Matt Corman & Chris Ord (Covert Affairs), Jim Dunn & Sam Ernst (Haven), Scott Gimple (Executive Producer, The Walking Dead), Adam Horowitz & Edward Kitsis (Once Upon A Time), Aaron Korsh (Suits), Bryan Moore & Chris Peterson (Lab Rats), Matt Nix (Burn Notice), Craig Shapiro & Elizabeth Kruger (Necessary Roughness), Veena Sud (The Killing), Craig Sweeny (Executive Producer, Elementary), Kriss Turner (Executive Producer, The First Family).

The Program starts Saturday, January 11, 2014 and runs six consecutive Saturdays, ending February 15, 2014.

Multiple Emmy winner and two-time former WGAW President John Wells (ER, West Wing, Shameless) gives advice on showrunning and the biggest challenge an executive producer faces. 

Who is Eligible to Apply?  

  • Current-active WGAW or WGAE members in good standing with writer-producer credit or above on a current, dramatic (comedy or drama) television series and/or an active studio or network pilot script commitment. Writing teams are considered a single entity and are welcome to apply.

The Application Process 

To apply for the SRTP, a recommendation form must first be submitted on the writer’s behalf by a current or recent (2010-2013) showrunner or a network or studio executive (from the development or current departments).

Recommendation Forms will be emailed to showrunners, executives, and TV series writers on Tuesday, August 13, 2013. The deadline for recommendations to be received is Friday, September 13, 2013.

Once the Recommendation Form has been received, the candidate will be sent the URL for the online Application and will have four weeks to complete and submit to the Guild. Once Applications are reviewed, select candidates are invited for personal interviews. Approximately twenty-five writers/writing teams will be invited to join the Program.

Evaluation Criteria 

Candidates will be evaluated principally on leadership potential, managerial skills and career experience.


If you have any questions concerning the submission process or the Program, please contact Program Director Carole Kirschner at (323) 782-4867 or e-mail the Showrunner Training Program.