Contact: Gregg Mitchell (323) 782-4574
News Release: September 21, 2012

Writers Guild of America, West Announces 2012 Board of Directors Election Results

LOS ANGELES -- The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) has announced the final results of its 2012 WGAW Board of Directors election.

The following eight members were elected to the WGAW’s Board of Directors: Chip Johannessen, Katherine Fugate, Michael Oates Palmer, John Aboud, Scott Alexander, David A. Goodman, Marjorie David, Kathy Kiernan.

Chip Johannessen (870, 10.8%), Katherine Fugate (840, 10.5%), Michael Oates Palmer (790, 9.9%), John Aboud (723, 9.0%), Scott Alexander (684, 8.5%), David A. Goodman (651, 8.1%), Marjorie David (650, 8.1%), Kathy Kiernan (585, 7.3%).

The Board members will serve a two-year term, effective immediately.

David Shore (563, 7.0%), Alexander Cary (437, 5.4%), Meg LeFauve (393, 4.9%), Jordan Mechner (273, 3.4%), Barbara Turner (246, 3.1%), Eric Small (153, 1.9%), Terrence Coli (151, 1.9%).

A total of 1,320 valid ballots were cast. Each ballot contained up to eight votes. Percentages are based on total number of votes cast. The ballot count was supervised by Robbin Johnson of Pacific Election Services, Inc., an independent firm.

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) is a labor union representing writers of motion pictures, television, radio, and Internet programming, including news and documentaries. Founded in 1933, the Guild negotiates and administers contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of its members. It is involved in a wide range of programs that advance the interests of writers, and is active in public policy and legislative matters on the local, national, and international levels. For more information on the WGAW, please visit: