Congratulations to the 2018 Showrunner Training Program participants:


Bob Berens
Alex Berger
TJ Brady & Rasheed Newson
Nazrin Choudhury
Eliza Clark
Samantha Corbin-Miller
Ben Cory Jones
Shalisha Francis
Andrew Hinderaker
Mark Lafferty
Robert Levine
Janet Lin
Katie Lovejoy
Justin Marks
Jami O’Brien
David O’Leary

Will Pascoe
Leah Rachel
Beth Schwartz
Liz Sczudlo
Genevieve Sparling
Ayelet Waldman


Jamie Denbo
Craig Doyle
Russell Eida
Amy & Wendy Engelberg
Silvia Olivas
Esther Povitsky
Kate Purdy
Ryan Raddatz


The thirteenth session of the Guild’s highly acclaimed Showrunner Training Program (SRTP) begins January 2018. Conducted in partnership with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers, this important industry training program is designed to help senior-level writer-producers and recent creators hone the skills necessary to become successful showrunners in today’s television landscape.

Providing invaluable instruction from current showrunners and other industry professionals, the program has helped produce many successful results. SRTP graduates have gone on to create or co-create 92 series.

This year, 21 new shows were created, co-created or developed by Program alums including:

Kenya Barris (Grown-ish)
Janine Sherman Barrois (Claws)
Steve Blackman (The Umbrella Academy)
Erin Cardillo & Richard Keith (Life Sentence)
Ben Epstein (In The Vault)
Don Handfield & Richard Rayner (Knightfall)
Jason Horwitch (Impulse)
Elgin James (Mayans MC)
Terri Kopp (In Contempt)
Matt Nix (The Gifted)
Joe Pokaski (Cloak & Dagger)
Tanya Saracho (Vida)
Frankie Shaw (SMILF)
Veena Sud (Seven Seconds)
Aaron Rahsaan Thomas (S.W.A.T.)
Lena Waithe (The Chi)

39 alumni have continuing series this year, either as creators or showrunners or both.

The Program starts Saturday, January 13, 2018 and runs six Saturdays, ending February 24, 2018.

See a complete list of SRTP alumni.

Who is Eligible to Apply?  

  • Current-active WGAW or WGAE members in good standing with "Supervising Producer" level credit or above on a current, dramatic (comedy or drama) television series and/or a produced series, pilot or pilot script commitment in active development at a network or studio. Writing teams are considered a single entity and are welcome to apply.

The Application Process

To apply for the SRTP, a recommendation form must first be submitted on the writer’s behalf by a current or recent (2015-2018) showrunner, or executive producer, or a network or studio executive (from the development or current departments).

Recommendation forms will be emailed to showrunners, executives, and TV series writers in mid-August 2018. The deadline for recommendations to be received will be mid-September 2018.

If a writer applied last year there’s no need to have a new recommendation submitted on his or her behalf; he or she can use the recommender from the previous year. If a candidate chooses to do this, they should contact Program Director Carole Kirschner before the recommendation deadline. The program will then contact the recommender for any potential updates.

If an applicant has applied before, there’s no need to provide new references, though the applicant is welcome to do so. He or she can simply list the references from the previous application.

The above procedures have been implemented to streamline the re-application process and put a minimum of stress on both the candidate and his or her references and recommenders.

Once the recommendation form has been received, (please just one rec form per applicant) or in the case of a re-submission, the recommender has signed off for the current year, the candidate will be sent the URL for the online application and will have four weeks to complete and submit to the Guild. Once applications are reviewed, select candidates are invited for personal interviews. Approximately twenty-five writers/writing teams will be invited to join the Program.

Evaluation Criteria

Candidates will be evaluated principally on leadership, experience, project development (where relevant) and assessment of immediate need. The spectrum of applicants ranges from current showrunners to novice television writers with active development or picked-up pilots. In making final selections, consideration is given to diversity in terms of genres, personal backgrounds and industry platforms.


  • Online Recommendation Form: September 2018, date tba
  • Online Application: October 2018, date tba
  • For specific dates, please check back in August 2018

If you have any questions concerning the submission process or the Program, please contact Program Director Carole Kirschner at (323) 782-4867 or email the Showrunner Training Program.