Acclaimed Actor-Writer-Comic Patton Oswalt to Host 2016 Writers Guild Awards West Coast Ceremony

Contact: Gregg Mitchell (323) 782-4574
Writers Guild Award and Grammy-nominated actor/writer/comedian Patton Oswalt has been tapped to host the 2016 Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony to be held next Saturday, February 13, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

LOS ANGELES – Writers Guild Award and Grammy-nominated actor/writer/comedian Patton Oswalt has been tapped to host the 2016 Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony to be held next Saturday, February 13, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. Emmy-winning writer-producer Hugh Fink returns as Executive Producer of this year’s show.

“Even though I am unable to read or write, the fact that the WGAW wants me to host their awards show proves to me that the only thing bigger than the Guild's scotch budget…is the size of their hearts,” said Oswalt.

Fink responded: “I am truly honored to have Patton Oswalt hosting the 2016 Writers Guild Awards. This fulfills a lifelong dream Patton and I have shared since our early days as standup comedians: to work together in a Hyatt Regency ballroom immediately following the Shapiro Bat Mitzvah.”

Patton and co-writers Gerry Duggan, Wayne Federman, and Erik Weiner received a Writers Guild Award nomination last year for co-writing the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards show, which Oswalt hosted.

In 2013, he won a Critics Choice Award for his guest appearance as “Garth Blundin” on Parks and Recreation (Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series), and in 2008 he was nominated for an Annie Award for his role as “Remy” in Disney’s hit animated movie Ratatouille (Best Voice Acting in an Animated Feature).

On the big screen, Patton’s memorable film roles include portraying “Matt Freehauf” opposite Charlize Theron in Young Adult, for which he received a Broadcast Film Critics Association Award nomination for Best Supporting Actor, as well as his breakout role as obsessive sports fan “Paul Aufiero” in the indie dark comedy Big Fan (2009), for which he earned a Gotham Award nomination for Breakthrough Actor. His additional film roles include appearances movies such as 22 Jump Street, Odd Thomas, Seeking a Friend for the End of the World, Nature Calls, Observe and Report, Reno 911!: Miami, Magnolia, Man on the Moon, and Balls of Fury. Next up Patton will be seen in the upcoming feature films The Confirmation and The Circle.

A versatile comic actor, Patton’s diverse television acting credits include portraying “Teddy Sykes” on Veep, “Billy/Sam/Eric Koenig” on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., BoJack Horseman, Drunk History, Freaks of Nature, “Constable Bob Sweeney” on Justified, Modern Family, Two and a Half Men, Portlandia, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Burn Notice, “Neil” on United States of Tara, Caprica, Bored to Death, Reno 911!, “Spence Olchin” on The King of Queens, and Seinfeld, as well as currently serving as the narrator on hit sitcom The Goldbergs.

A veteran of the U.S. stand-up comedy circuit, Oswalt has been headlining clubs across the nation since 1996, as well as starring in his own cable TV comedy specials for Comedy Central and HBO, including the acclaimed trio: Tragedy Plus Comedy Equals Time, Finest Hour, and My Weakness is Strong – having also been a three-time Grammy nominee for Best Comedy Album for those acclaimed one-man comedy specials in 2015, 2012, and 2010. Named Entertainment Weekly’s “It” comedian in 2002, he has since been a regular on late-night shows such as Late Night with Conan O’Brien. He also co-starred in and co-wrote the documentary film and TV series, The Comedians of Comedy, featuring a behind-the-scenes look of a quartet of comics touring on the road, including Oswalt and Zach Galifianakis, among others.

Earlier in his career, Oswalt spent several seasons as a writer on the comedy sketch series MADtv and has written for several award shows and specials, including the MTV Music Video Awards and Al Pacino: An American Cinemateque Tribute.

This year’s production team includes Producers Tara Power and Joselyn Allen of Decoupage Productions, Co-Producer Kelly Brock, Director Nick Murray, and Head Writer Joe O’Brien, as well as writers Fink, Ed Lee, Beth Armogida, Shelly Goldstein, Gerry Duggan, and Matt Oswalt.

The WGAW’s Awards Committee includes Guild members Karen Harris (chair), Steve Chivers, Patrick Doody, Shelly Goldstein, and Scott Saltzburg.

For a press photo of host Patton Oswalt, click here.

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation categories. Competitive awards will be presented at both the Los Angeles ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza and the New York ceremony at the Edison Ballroom. The Los Angeles and New York ceremonies take place concurrently on February 13, 2016. For more information about the 2016 Writers Guild Awards, please visit or

For media inquiries about the 2016 Writers Guild Awards Los Angeles show, please contact Gregg Mitchell in the WGAW Communications Department at: (323) 782-4651 or email: Gregg Mitchell.

For media inquiries about the 2016 Writers Guild Awards New York City show, please contact Jason Gordon in the WGAE Communications Department at (212) 767-7809 or email: Jason Gordon.

The Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) are labor unions representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, digital media, and broadcast news. The Guilds negotiate and administer contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of their members; conduct programs, seminars, and events on issues of interest to writers; and present writers' views to various bodies of government. For more information on the Writers Guild of America West, visit For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit