The climate crisis necessitates immediate global attention and action. As writers, we are in a unique position to make a difference. Here's how:

Storytelling

The climate crisis can be integrated into any kind of story, in small or explicit ways. All of it makes a difference. And you don’t have to be an expert. Here are some resources on how to incorporate climate content in your projects.

Sustainable Production

Here are some resources on changes you can make to reduce your production’s carbon output. No matter your position on staff, every voice helps! 

Events

Climate Storytelling Workshop for Showrunners, Creative Producers and Writers 

How do you sell a climate pitch in a market that just wants to entertain? Are there pitfalls to avoid in climate storytelling? Where does one find experts to help explore climate issues and fine-tune information?

Join WGAW and PGA members along with NRDC’s Rewrite the Future for a 75-minute workshop for writers, creative producers, and showrunners to learn and talk about climate representation on screen. Rewrite the Future works with a broad range of creators and entertainment companies to support creative, accurate and effective climate representation in entertainment. 

The session will begin with a climate storytelling presentation from Rewrite the Future, followed by an open conversation about practical strategies for creatives. 

Presented by the WGA/PGA Climate Storytelling Working Group with NRDC’s Rewrite the Future.

January 24 - 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET RSVP
January 31 - 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET RSVP
February 7 - 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET RSVP

WGA members only

Contacts

Guild members who have volunteered to serve as resources:

Producers Guild of America contacts:

And If You Want More… 

Check this page regularly for additional information and resources as they become available.